• Monday, 19 October 2020 - 18:13:12

IGF system and foetal and postnatal growth

Irène Netchine
Team Leader : Irène Netchine
Administrative contact : Erwan Leforestier

Hopital Saint-Antoine - Bâtiment Kourilsky - 5ème étage - 184, rue du Faubourg Saint-Antoine, 75012 Paris, France

Professors, Lecturers, Researchers, Clinicians
Postdocs, Contract Researchers, Emeritus, Volunteer
Engineers, Technicians
PhD students, Master

Research IGF system and foetal and postnatal growth

Epigenetic, genetic and environmental factors are involved in the regulation of growth. Any disturbance affecting one of these factors can lead to abnormal growth in either fetal and/or postnatal periods. Intra-uterine growth retardation (IUGR) is associated with severe morbidity and mortality, and especially an enhanced metabolic risk. On the other hand, overgrowth syndromes are associated to an enhanced risk of tumor during childhood. Fetal and/or early postnatal alterations lead to a differential growth trajectory and to an alteration of energetic metabolism. We demonstrated in mice that nutrition during lactation can stimulate growth and program the adult size through a different setting of the neuroendocrine somatotropic axis. This is associated with a different sensitivity to develop cardio-metabolic pathologies in adulthood. Our goals, detailed in four axes below, are to improve the early detection of abnormal fetal growth and tumors-risk, understand the regulation of growth and metabolism in order to propose and help in the design for new treatment strategies to improve growth, metabolic and tumoral prognosis.

  • To better understand the physiopathology of imprinting disorders (ID), we are increasing our cohorts of children born Small for Gestational age, or affected by Silver Russell Syndrome (SRS) and, in mirror, children born with over growth (Beckwith Wiedemann Syndrome).We aim to further decipher the molecular mechanisms of these imprinting disorders and to identify new molecular causes of SRS and BWS. For this purpose, we develop a high-throughput approach by next generation sequencing using an in house designed genes panel.
  • In the absence of appropriate mice models to explore Human imprinted disorders (ID) and because of the difficulty to collect tissues of interest from the patients, we aim to establish pluripotent stem cells (iPSCs) derived from SRS and BWS patients. These cellular models of IDs will be derived into specialized cells of interest (chondrocytes, adipose tissue, neurons) to document the consequences of IDs in these tissues.
  • Among imprinted genes, Delta-like homologue 1 (DLK1) is of special interest since its down-regulation leads to fetal growth restriction (FGR) and GH deficiency in some cases. We are deciphering the role of DLK1 in fetal and postnatal growth. We are notably testing if circulating DLK1 serum levels in the pregnant mothers can be used as a biomarker of FGR in humans. In parallel, in murine models, we are investigating the role of Dlk1 gene product into the regulation of linear growth during development.
  • With the purpose of measuring the impact of nutritional environment during the perinatal period on growth as well as cardio-metabolic diseases development, our project pursue the study of the mechanisms involved in the programming of growth and cardio-metabolic pathologies in mice when the perinatal nutrition is altered. In parallel, we take advantage of our large cohorts of patients with abnormal prenatal growth and imprinted disorders to study the long-term metabolic consequences of these conditions in Humans.

Highlights :

  1. We highlighted cellular mechanisms involved in the setting of growth target in response to the nutrition during the early postnatal period (lactation), and the particular role of nutritionally-regulated hormones like IGF1 (Decourtye et al, PLoS One. 2017 Jan 11;12(1):e0170083. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0170083).
  2. We have reported a large series of patients with imprinting defects on chromosome 14 (DLK1/GTL2 locus), usually affected in Temple Syndrome and showed that they have an important clinical overlap with patients with Silver Russell Syndrome, secondary to imprinting defects on chromosome 11 (IGF2/H19 locus), in keeping with an imprinting gene network. We aim to decipher the molecular mechanism(s) that are responsible for this clinical overlap (Geoffron et al, J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2018 Jul 1;103(7):2436-2446. doi: 10.1210/jc.2017-02152).
  3. We have identified that genetic defects of the HMGA2-PLAG1-IGF2 pathway can lead to fetal and postnatal growth restriction, highlighting the role of this oncogenic pathway in the fine regulation of physiological fetal/postnatal growth. This work defines new genetic causes of Silver Russell Syndrome, important for genetic counseling (Abi Habib et al, Genet Med. 2018 Feb;20(2):250-258. doi: 10.1038/gim.2017.105).

 

Saint-Antoine
Research Center
UMR_S 938

Hôpital St-Antoine

Contact

Phone : +(33) 1 49 28 46 00

Système IGF et croissance fœtale et post-natale

Irène Netchine
Chef(s) d'équipe(s) : Irène Netchine
Contact administratif : Erwan Leforestier

Hopital Saint-Antoine - Bâtiment Kourilsky - 5ème étage - 184, rue du Faubourg Saint-Antoine, 75012 Paris, France

Professeurs, Maîtres de conférence, Chercheurs, Cliniciens
Post-doctorants, Chercheurs contractuels, Éméritat, Bénévolat
Ingénieurs, Techniciens
Doctorants, Master

Recherches système IGF et croissance foetale et post-natale

La croissance fœtale et postnatale dépend de facteurs épigénétiques, génétiques et environnementaux, et toute perturbation de ces facteurs peut perturber cette croissance. Le retard de croissance intra-utérin (RCIU) est associé à une morbidité et une mortalité marquée, ainsi qu’à un risque accru de complications métaboliques. A l’inverse, les syndromes de croissance excessives sont associés à un risque augmenté de développer une tumeur pendant l’enfance. Les altérations de la croissance fœtale et / ou postnatale précoces peuvent entraîner des modifications persistantes des trajectoires de croissance et peuvent mener à une altération du métabolisme énergétique. Nous avons montré chez la souris que la restriction de nutrition pendant la lactation pouvait programmer la taille adulte par régulation de l'axe somatotrope neuroendocrine, associé à un risque accru de développer des pathologies cardio-métaboliques à l'âge adulte. Nos objectifs, détaillés en quatre axes, sont d’améliorer la détection précoce des anomalies de la croissance fœtale et des tumeurs de l’enfant et de comprendre la régulation de la croissance et du métabolisme, ceci afin de proposer de nouvelles stratégies de traitement visant à améliorer la croissance fœtale, le métabolisme et le pronostic tumoral.

  • Afin de mieux comprendre la physiopathologie de la croissance fœtale et des pathologies d’empreinte, nous augmentons nos cohortes de patients nés petits pour l’âge gestationnel (PAG), de patients ayant un syndrome de Silver Russell (SRS) et de patients présentant un syndrome de Beckwith Wiedemann (BWS, croissance excessive). Dans le but de mieux comprendre les mécanismes moléculaires des troubles de l'empreinte et d'identifier de nouvelles causes moléculaires de SRS et de BWS, nous développons une approche haut débit par séquençage nouvelle génération à l'aide d'un panel de gènes conçu à façon.
  • Compte tenu de l'absence de modèles murins adaptés pour explorer les pathologies d'intérêt chez les patients, et des difficultés d’obtenir des tissus, nous souhaitons établir des cellules souches pluripotentes (CSP) de patients atteints de SRS ou de BWS. Ces modèles cellulaires seront dérivés en cellules de tissu d'intérêt spécialisées (chondrocytes, tissu adipeux, neurones) afin de documenter les conséquences de ces anomalies d’empreinte dans ces tissus.
  • Parmi les gènes soumis à empreinte, l'homologue de type Delta 1 (DLK1) présente un intérêt particulier. La diminution de son expression conduit à une restriction de la croissance fœtale et à un déficit en GH dans certains cas. Nous souhaitons étudier son rôle dans la croissance fœtale et postnatale. Nous testons notamment si les taux sériques circulant de DLK1 chez les femmes enceintes peuvent être utilisés comme biomarqueurs de restriction fœtale chez l'Humain. En parallèle, dans des modèles murins, nous étudions le rôle de Dlk1 dans la régulation de la croissance - au cours du développement.
  • D’une manière complémentaire, nous étudions l’impact de l’environnement nutritionnel pendant la période périnatale sur la croissance ainsi que sur le développement de maladies cardio-métaboliques. Notre projet poursuit l'étude des mécanismes impliqués dans la programmation des pathologies de croissance et cardio-métaboliques chez la souris lorsque la nutrition périnatale est modifiée. Parallèlement, nous tirons parti de nos grandes cohortes de patients présentant une anomalie de la croissance fœtale et des pathologies d’empreinte pour étudier les conséquences métaboliques à long terme de ces affections chez l'homme.

Faits marquants:

  1. Nous avons déterminé les mécanismes cellulaires mis en œuvre dans la programmation de la croissance par la nutrition postnatale précoce (lactation), en particulier sur les hormones régulées par la nutrition comme l’IGF-I. (Decourtye et al PLoS One. 2017 11 janvier 2017; 12 (1) : e0170083. doi: 10.1371 / journal.pone.0170083).
  2. Nous avons rapporté une grande série de patients présentant des défauts d’empreinte sur le chromosome 14 (locus DLK1 / GTL2), classiquement décrits comme syndrome de Temple. Nous avons démontré un chevauchement clinique important entre ces patients et les patients atteints de syndrome de Silver Russell, secondaire à des défauts d’empreinte sur le chromosome. 11 (locus IGF2 / H19). Cette observation est en accord avec l’existence d’un réseau de gènes soumis à empreinte. Le (s) mécanisme (s) moléculaire (s) responsable (s) de ce chevauchement clinique sera important à élucider (Geoffron et al, J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2018 Jul 1; 103 (7): 2436-2446. Doi: 10.1210 / jc.2017-02152).
  3. Nous avons identifié des défauts génétiques de la voie HMGA2-PLAG1-IGF2 chez des patients avec restriction de la croissance fœtale et postnatale, soulignant le rôle de cette voie oncogénique dans la régulation fine de la croissance physiologique fœtale et postnatale. Ce travail définit de nouvelles causes génétiques du syndrome de Silver Russell, importantes pour le conseil génétique (Abi Habib et al, Genet Med. 2018; 20 (2): 250-258. Doi: 10.1038 / gim.2017.105).

Centre de Recherche
Saint-Antoine
UMR_S 938

Hôpital St-Antoine

Contact

Tél : +(33) 1 49 28 46 00