• Friday, 07 August 2020 - 03:29:15

Genetic and acquired lipodystrophies

Bruno Fève
Team Leader : Bruno Fève
Administrative contact : Arnaud Noisette

Faculté de médecine Pierre et Marie Curie – Site Saint-Antoine - 7ème étage
27, rue Chaligny – 75571 PARIS cedex 12

Professors, Lecturers, Researchers, Clinicians
Postdocs, Contract Researchers, Emeritus, Volunteer
Engineers, Technicians
PhD students, Master

Team “Lipodystrophies, metabolic and hormonal adaptations, and aging” (Dir. B. Fève)

The general aim of our project is focused on genetic or acquired forms of lipodystrophies (LD), including their systemic metabolic adaptations, aging consequences, and impact on fertility and reproductive functions. Generally, we will set up a transversal approach that will include the molecular and cellular bases of pathophysiology, the genetic diagnosis, the clinical and biological determinants that influence the metabolic and cardiovascular prognosis, and the investigation of new therapeutic strategies for the prevention or treatment of LD, or metabolic disorders associated with insulin resistance. Beyond the works of our team in the field of genetic or HIV-, and glucocorticoid-associated LD, the arrival of several new members gives us the opportunity to study fundamental and clinical aspects at other systemic and integrated levels, including a higher expertise in endocrine pancreas or intestinal functions, and the emergence of a new axis on the impact of LD on gonadal function and aging. We believe that one of our major strengths is that we can develop both basic and clinical approaches through the combination in the expertise of scientists and physicians.

The investigations on the pathophysiology of genetic LD largely benefit from the recent creation of the CRMR (Centre Référence Maladies Rares) PRISIS (Pathologies Rares de l’Insulinosensibilité et de l’Insulinosécrétion), and include four objectives: i) search for new genes responsible for familial LD of unknown origin; ii) functional studies of new genetic variants and genotype-phenotype correlations in affected patients; iii) pathophysiological studies of laminopathies; iv) influence of LD patients' treatment with recombinant leptin on the metabolic and adipose tissue histological features.

We also investigate HIV-associated LD and the consequences of adipose tissue aging with several pathophysiological objectives: i) The first axis concerns the study of HIV-associated adipose tissue redistribution and the respective role of the anti-retroviral treatment and the virus; ii) The second axis is focused on the study of physiological aging and senescence of adipose tissue, using patients with HIV-infected LD or genetic generalized or partial LD, or in vitro models of human preadipose or adipose cell senescence.

Glucocorticoid-induced LD is studied by using both basic and clinical approaches: i) analysis with pharmacological and/or transgenic murine models of the role of the adipocyte glucocorticoid and mineralocorticoid receptors in the development and metabolism of adipose tissue, and in energy homeostasis; ii) identification of adipose-secreted factors that underlie the communication between adipose tissue, liver, skeletal muscle, pancreatic and entero-endocrine cells.

We also develop a new field studying the impact of metabolic and adipose tissue diseases on the control of fertility, with a specific focus on the interactions between LD, TGF-beta members, and gonadal function. More specifically, we will develop in vitro and in vivo approaches on granulosa cells and rodent models, but also clinical studies in several independent cohorts to investigate the relationships between LD, anti-Müllerian hormone, and fertility.

References

Beaupere C, Garcia M, Larghero J, Fève B, Capeau J, Lagathu C. The HIV proteins Tat and Nef promote human bone marrow mesenchymal stem cell senescence and alter osteoblastic differentiation. Aging Cell (2015), 14, 534-546.

Bidault G, Garcia M, Vantyghem MC, Ducluzeau PH, Morichon R, Thiyagarajah K, Moritz S, Capeau J, Vigouroux C, Béréziat V. Lipodystrophy-linked LMNA p.R482W mutation induces clinical early atherosclerosis and in vitro endothelial dysfunction. Arterioscler Thomb Vasc Biol (2013) 33, 2162-2171.

Boccara F, Lang S, Meuleman C, Ederhy S, Mary-Krause M, Costagliola D, Capeau J, Cohen A. HIV and coronary heart disease: time for a better understanding. J Am Coll Cardiol (2013) 61, 511-523.

Gandotra S, Le Dour C, Bottomley W, Cervera P, Giral P, Reznik Y, Charpentier G, Auclair M, Delépine M, Barroso I, Semple RK, Lathrop M, Lascols O, Capeau J, O’Rahilly S, Magré J, Savage DB, Vigouroux C. Perilipin deficiency and autosomal dominant partial lipodystrophy. N Engl J Med (2011) 364, 740-748.

Kadiri S, Monnier C, Ganbold M, Ledent T, Capeau J, Antoine B. The nuclear retinoid-related orphan receptor-alpha regulates adipose tissue glyceroneogenesis in addition to hepatic gluconeogenesis. Am J Physiol Endocrinol Metab (2015) 309, E105-E114.

Kuhn E, Bourgeois C, Keo V, Viengchareun S, Muscat A, Meduri G, Le Menuet D, Fève B, Lombès M. Paradoxical resistance to high-fat diet-induced obesity and altered macrophage polarization in mineralocorticoid receptor-overexpressing mice. Am J Physiol Endocrinol Metab (2014) 306, E75-E90.

pubmedlogo.png

Saint-Antoine
Research Center
UMR_S 938

Hôpital St-Antoine

Contact

Phone : +(33) 1 49 28 46 00

Lipodystrophies, adaptations métaboliques et hormonales, et vieillissement

Bruno Fève
Chef(s) d'équipe(s) : Bruno Fève
Contact administratif : Arnaud Noisette

Faculté de médecine Pierre et Marie Curie – Site Saint-Antoine - 7ème étage
27, rue Chaligny – 75571 PARIS cedex 12

Professeurs, Maîtres de conférence, Chercheurs, Cliniciens
MCU-PH/CR
Contr.
E-Mail :
Tél. :
Post-doctorants, Chercheurs contractuels, Éméritat, Bénévolat
Ingénieurs, Techniciens
Doctorants, Master

Equipe “Lypodystrophies, adaptations métaboliques et hormonales, et vieillissement » (Dir. : B Fève)

Notre projet est centré sur les formes génétiques et acquises des lipodystrophies (LD), en y incluant les adaptations métaboliques systémiques, les conséquences sur le vieillissement, et l’impact sur la fertilité et les fonctions de reproduction. De façon générale, nous développons une approche transversale comprenant la physiopathologie moléculaire et cellulaire, le diagnostic génétique, les déterminants cliniques et biologiques qui influencent le pronostic métabolique et cardio-vasculaire, et l’étude de nouvelles stratégies thérapeutiques qui visent à prévenir ou à traiter les LD, ou les désordres métaboliques associés à l’insulino-résistance. Au-delà des travaux établis de notre équipe dans le domaine des LD génétiques ou associées à l’infection VIH ou aux glucocorticoïdes, l’arrivée dans notre équipe de nouveaux scientifiques nous a permis d’étudier des aspects fondamentaux et cliniques à des niveaux systémiques et intégrés originaux, avec une expertise nouvelle dans le champ du pancréas endocrine ou les fonctions intestinales, et l’émergence d’un nouvel axe sur l’impact des LD sur la fonction gonadique. Nous pensons qu’une de nos forces essentielles repose sur notre capacité à développer à la fois des approches fondamentale et clinique, en s’adossant à l’expertise de nos scientifiques et de nos praticiens.

Les investigations sur la physiopathologie des LD génétiques a largement bénéficié de la création récente du CRMR (Centre de Référence des Maladies Rares) PRISIS (Pathologies Rares de l’Insulino-Sensibilité et de l’Insulino-Sécrétion), et inclut 4 objectifs : i) identification de nouveaux gènes responsables de LD familiales de cause inconnue ; ii) étude fonctionnelle des nouveaux variants génétiques et des relations génotype-phénotype des patients atteints ; iii) étude physiopathologique des laminopathies ; iv) influence sur les paramètres métaboliques et histologiques du traitement des patients lipodystrophiques par la leptine recombinante.

Nous étudions également les LD associées à l’infection VIH et les conséquences du vieillissement du tissu adipeux, avec plusieurs objectifs physiopathologiques : i) le premier axe est centré sur l’étude des rôles respectifs du virus et des traitements anti-rétroviraux dans la redistribution du tissu adipeux associée à cette infection ; ii) le second axe s’intéresse au vieillissement physiologique et à la sénescence du tissu adipeux, à travers l’étude de patients infectés par le VIH et atteints de LD ou de patients souffrant de LD génétiques généralisées ou partielles, ou de modèles in vitro de sénescence de préadipocytes ou adipocytes humains.

La LD induite par les glucocorticoïdes  est explorée par des approches fondamentales et cliniques : i) analyse à l’aide de modèles murins pharmacologiques et/ou transgéniques du rôle des récepteurs de glucocorticoïdes et des minéralocorticoïdes dans le développement et le métabolisme du tissu adipeux, ainsi que dans l’homéostasie énergétique ; ii) identification de facteurs sécrétés par le tissu adipeux susceptibles d’assurer un dialogue entre le tissu adipeux, le foie, le muscle squelettique, le pancréas endocrine et les cellules entéro-endocrines.

Nous développons enfin un nouveau champ d’investigation sur l’impact des maladies du tissu adipeux sur le contrôle de la fertilité, avec un intérêt plus particulier sur les interactions entre LD, les membres de la famille du TGF-beta, et la fonction gonadique. De façon plus spécifique, nous développons des approches in vitro et in vivo sur des cellules de la granulosa et des modèles de rongeurs, mais aussi des approches cliniques dans plusieurs cohortes afin d’étudier les relations entre LD, l’hormone anti-Müllérienne, et la fertilité.

 

References

Beaupere C, Garcia M, Larghero J, Fève B, Capeau J, Lagathu C. The HIV proteins Tat and Nef promote human bone marrow mesenchymal stem cell senescence and alter osteoblastic differentiation. Aging Cell (2015), 14, 534-546.

Bidault G, Garcia M, Vantyghem MC, Ducluzeau PH, Morichon R, Thiyagarajah K, Moritz S, Capeau J, Vigouroux C, Béréziat V. Lipodystrophy-linked LMNA p.R482W mutation induces clinical early atherosclerosis and in vitro endothelial dysfunction. Arterioscler Thomb Vasc Biol (2013) 33, 2162-2171.

Boccara F, Lang S, Meuleman C, Ederhy S, Mary-Krause M, Costagliola D, Capeau J, Cohen A. HIV and coronary heart disease: time for a better understanding. J Am Coll Cardiol (2013) 61, 511-523.

Gandotra S, Le Dour C, Bottomley W, Cervera P, Giral P, Reznik Y, Charpentier G, Auclair M, Delépine M, Barroso I, Semple RK, Lathrop M, Lascols O, Capeau J, O’Rahilly S, Magré J, Savage DB, Vigouroux C. Perilipin deficiency and autosomal dominant partial lipodystrophy. N Engl J Med (2011) 364, 740-748.

Kadiri S, Monnier C, Ganbold M, Ledent T, Capeau J, Antoine B. The nuclear retinoid-related orphan receptor-alpha regulates adipose tissue glyceroneogenesis in addition to hepatic gluconeogenesis. Am J Physiol Endocrinol Metab (2015) 309, E105-E114.

Kuhn E, Bourgeois C, Keo V, Viengchareun S, Muscat A, Meduri G, Le Menuet D, Fève B, Lombès M. Paradoxical resistance to high-fat diet-induced obesity and altered macrophage polarization in mineralocorticoid receptor-overexpressing mice. Am J Physiol Endocrinol Metab (2014) 306, E75-E90.

pubmedlogo.png

Centre de Recherche
Saint-Antoine
UMR_S 938

Hôpital St-Antoine

Contact

Tél : +(33) 1 49 28 46 00