• Wednesday, 08 July 2020 - 00:53:52

Cystic fibrosis : physiopathology and phenogenomics

Harriet Corvol
Team Leader : Harriet Corvol
Administrative contact : Erwan Leforestier

Hopital Saint-Antoine - Bâtiment Kourilsky - 6ème étage - 184, rue du Faubourg Saint-Antoine, 75012 Paris, France

Professors, Lecturers, Researchers, Clinicians
Postdocs, Contract Researchers, Emeritus, Volunteer
Engineers, Technicians
PhD students, Master

Research cystic fibrosis physiopathology and phenogenomics

Cystic fibrosis (CF) is the most common, severe, autosomal recessive genetic disease in Caucasians due to pathogenic variants in the CF transmembrane conductance regulator (CFTR) gene. More than 2000 CFTR variants have been described, the most common being the F508del. Although CF is considered to be a monogenic disease, significant phenotypic diversity is observed in patients with the same CFTR variants. In addition to environmental factors, it has been shown that other genes, called modifier genes, contribute to this variability. This disease affects several organs such as the pancreas, liver, intestine, and more severely the lungs. At the airway level, the absence of a functional CFTR leads to defective water and salt transport, resulting in impaired mucociliary clearance, chronic infections, exacerbated inflammation, and destruction of the lung tissue. Lung damage remains the main cause of morbidity and mortality in CF.

Four main areas of research in CF are studied in our laboratory: identification and evaluation of modifier genes, role of chloride channels, inflammatory/anti-inflammatory response and infectious response.

Modifier genes study in CF

Our team coordinates a national study on CF modifier genes and participates in international networks. More than 4800 French patients are participating in this study.
Following analyses of the whole genome (GWAS), we identified and validated the role of multiple genes in several CF clinical disorders such as lung disease (Corvol et al, Nat Commun 2015), meconium ileus (Sun et al, Nat Genet 2012), Immunotrypsinogen and sweat chloride measurements (Miller et al, J Pediatr 2015, Collaco et al. Am J Respir Crit Care Med 2016), and drug response (Strug et al, Hum Mol Genet 2017 & Corvol et al, Front Pharmacol 2018). We pursue our analyses to discover genes associated with other CF traits such as diabetes and liver disease (Boelle et al, Hepatology 2018), and to functionally characterize the identified genes.

Role of FAM13A as a CF modifier gene

We have recently identified FAM13A as a CF lung disease modifier (Corvol et al, J Med Genet. 2014). The functional study of FAM13A has shown that its inhibition leads to a disorganization of the actin-F cytoskeleton and formation of stress fibers, and regulates markers of the epithelial-mesenchymal transition (Corvol et al, J Cyst Fibros 2018). We are currently working on mice models in collaboration with North American teams.

Therapeutic strategy targeting RNAs

New therapeutic strategies targeting CFTR RNAs are being evaluated in several laboratories (Sonneville et al, Am J Pathol. 2015; Bardin et al, Front Pharmacol, 2018; Bardin et al, Med Sci, 2018). In order to propose an alternative therapeutic approach targeting all patients, regardless of the CFTR variants, we have developed a molecule blocking a microRNA which itself negatively regulates the ANO1 chloride channel (3 international patents). In in vitro and mice models, we have shown that this molecule was able to compensate for some CFTR defects (Sonneville et al, Nat Commun. 2017). Our current objective is to develop this molecule in order to consider an alternative therapeutic strategy for all CF patients. At the same time, we have also shown that some miRNAs were involved in the pulmonary inflammation observed in CF patients (Bardin et al, J Pathol, 2018), work that is currently ongoing.

Study of the response of bronchial epithelial cells following an infection by

  • Pseudomonas aeruginosa: Analyses of mRNAs and long non-coding RNAs expressed by bronchial epithelial cells during P. aeruginosa infection show significant differences in expression between cells of CF patients and healthy subjects (Balloy et al, PLoS One. 2015 & Front Cell Infect Microbiol. 2017). Following these transcriptomic analyses, we have recently highlighted the role of CHAC1 in the control of inflammation (Perra et al, Front immunol, 2018). We are currently analyzing miRNA expression during P. aeruginosa infection.
  • Aspergillus fumigatus: Bronchial epithelial cells inhibit the growth of the fungus A. fumigatus by a PI3 kinase-dependent process (Richard et al. Sci rep, 2018). Transcriptomic analysis of infected cells will allow us to identify the genes involved in this anti-fungal activity in order to describe their role in the fungal infection in patients with CF.

2018 highlights

CF modifier genes

In collaboration with North-American teams, we identified and validated the role of multiple genes in several CF clinical disorders such as lung disease (Corvol et al, Nat Commun 2015), meconium ileus (Sun et al, Nat Genet 2012), Immunotrypsinogen and sweat chloride measurements (Miller et al, J Pediatr 2015, Collaco et al. Am J Respir Crit Care Med 2016), and drug response (Strug et al, Hum Mol Genet 2017 & Corvol et al, Front Pharmacol 2018). We helped to develop new biostatistical models to evaluate modifier genes (Soave et al. Am J Hum Genet 2015). In 2018, we analyzed the cumulative incidence, the complications and risk factors for CF liver disease (Boelle et al, Hepatology, 2018).

We have functionally analyzed one CF lung disease modifier, FAM13A1 (Corvol et al. J Med Genet 2014) and studied its role in vitro. We have shown that its inhibition led to a disorganization of the actin-F cytoskeleton and formation of stress fibers, and regulated markers of the epithelial-mesenchymal transition (Corvol et al, J Cyst Fibros 2018). We are currently working on mice models in collaboration with North American teams.

Therapeutic strategy targeting the chloride channel ANO1 ads the inflammation

This project, supported by the SATT Lutech as part of a valorisation program in partnership with Inserm Transfert, is one of the strategic projects of the French CF patients foundation “Vaincre La Mucoviscidose”. An international patent was published by Inserm Transfert in 2016 (PCT/EP2016/065565) and two others were filed in 2018 for this molecule which could have therapeutic application for all patients with CF. The new molecule blocks a miRNA which itself negatively regulates the ANO1 chloride channel. In in vitro and mice models, we have shown that this molecule was able to compensate for some CFTR defects (Sonneville et al, Nat Commun. 2017). Our current objective is to develop this molecule in order to consider an alternative therapeutic strategy for all CF patients. At the same time, we have also shown that some miRNAs were involved in the pulmonary inflammation observed in CF patients (Bardin et al, J Pathol, 2018.

Study of the response of bronchial epithelial cells following an infection by

  • Pseudomonas aeruginosa: Analyses of mRNAs and long non-coding RNAs expressed by bronchial epithelial cells during P. aeruginosa infection show significant differences in expression between cells of CF patients and healthy subjects (Balloy et al, PLoS One. 2015 & Front Cell Infect Microbiol. 2017). Following these transcriptomic analyses, we have recently highlighted the role of CHAC1 in the control of inflammation (Perra et al, Front immunol, 2018). We are currently analyzing miRNA expression during P. aeruginosa infection.
  • Aspergillus fumigatus: Bronchial epithelial cells inhibit the growth of the fungus A. fumigatus by a PI3 kinase-dependent process (Richard et al. Sci rep, 2018). Transcriptomic analysis of infected cells will allow us to identify the genes involved in this anti-fungal activity in order to describe their role in the fungal infection in patients with CF.

Saint-Antoine
Research Center
UMR_S 938

Hôpital St-Antoine

Contact

Phone : +(33) 1 49 28 46 00

Mucoviscidose: physiopathologie et phénogénomique

Harriet Corvol
Chef(s) d'équipe(s) : Harriet Corvol
Contact administratif : Erwan Leforestier

Hopital Saint-Antoine - Bâtiment Kourilsky - 6ème étage - 184, rue du Faubourg Saint-Antoine, 75012 Paris, France

Professeurs, Maîtres de conférence, Chercheurs, Cliniciens
Post-doctorants, Chercheurs contractuels, Éméritat, Bénévolat
Ingénieurs, Techniciens
Doctorants, Master

Recherches sur la Mucoviscidose :

La mucoviscidose est la maladie génétique à transmission autosomique récessive la plus fréquente chez les Caucasiens. Elle est due à des variants du gène codant pour le canal chlorure CFTR (Cystic Fibrosis Transmembrane conductance Regulator) exprimé de façon ubiquitaire au sein des épithélia sécértoires. Plus de 2000 variants de CFTR ont été décrits, le plus fréquent étant la F508del. Bien que la mucoviscidose soit considérée comme étant une maladie monogénique, une importante diversité phénotypique est observée chez les patients portant de mêmes variants de CFTR. En dehors de facteurs environnementaux, il a été montré que d’autres gènes, appelés gènes modificateurs, contribuent à cette variabilité. Cette pathologie touche plusieurs organes comme le pancréas, le foie, l’intestin, et plus sévèrement les poumons. Au niveau des voies aériennes, l’absence d’un CFTR fonctionnel conduit à un défaut du transport d’eau et de sel ayant pour conséquence une clairance mucociliaire altérée, des infections chroniques, une inflammation exacerbée, et une destruction du tissu pulmonaire. L’atteinte pulmonaire reste la cause principale de morbidité et de mortalité dans la mucoviscidose.

Quatre axes de recherche sont principalement étudiés dans notre laboratoire : les gènes modificateurs, le rôle des canaux chlorures, la réponse inflammatoire/anti-inflammatoire et la réponse infectieuse.

Etudes des gènes modificateurs dans la mucoviscidose

Notre équipe coordonne une étude nationale de recherche des gènes modificateurs de la mucoviscidose et participe à des réseaux internationaux. Plus de 4800 patients français participent à cette étude. Suite à une analyse du génome entier, nous avons mis en évidence plusieurs loci associés à la sévérité des atteintes respiratoire (Corvol et al, Nat Commun. 2015), digestive (Sun et al, Nat Genet. 2012 & Miller et a, J Pediatr. 2015), des glandes sudoripares (Collaco et al. Am J Respir Crit Care Med. 2016), ainsi qu’à la réponse médicamenteuse (Strug et al, Hum Mol Genet. 2017 & Corvol et al, Front Pharmacol 2018). Nous poursuivons nos analyses afin de découvrir des gènes associés à d’autres atteintes comme le diabète et l’atteinte hépatique (Boelle et al, Hepatology 2018), et caractériser fonctionnellement les gènes identifiés.

Rôle de FAM13A comme gène modificateur de la mucoviscidose

Nous avons récemment identifié dans notre cohorte de patients atteints de mucoviscidose le gène FAM13A comme modificateur de la sévérité de l’atteinte pulmonaire. Nous avons donc caractérisé in vitro certaines fonctions de cette protéine mal connue (Corvol et al, J Med Genet. 2014). Nous avons mis en évidence qu’inhiber FAM13A entrainait une désorganisation du cytosquelette d’actine-F, la formation de fibres de stress, et régulait des marqueurs de la transition épithélio-mésenchymateuse (Corvol et al, J Cyst Fibros. 2018). Nous poursuivons actuellement sur des modèles de souris en collaboration avec des équipes Nord-Américaines.

Stratégie thérapeutique ciblant les ARNs

Dans la mucoviscidose, de nouvelles stratégies thérapeutiques ciblant les ARNs de CFTR sont en cours d’étude dans différents laboratoires (Sonneville et al, Am J Pathol. 2015 ; Bardin et al, Front Pharmacol, 2018 ; Bardin et al, Med Sci, 2018). Dans le but de proposer une approche thérapeutique alternative ciblant l’ensemble des patients, quelques soient les variants de CFTR, nous avons développé une molécule bloquant un microARN qui, lui-même, régule négativement le canal chlorure ANO1 (3 brevets internationaux). Sur des modèles in vitro et chez la souris, nous avons montré que cette molécule était capable de compenser certains défauts de CFTR (Sonneville et al, Nat Commun. 2017). Notre objectif actuel est de valoriser cette molécule afin d’envisager une stratégie thérapeutique alternative pour tous les patients atteints de mucoviscidose. Parallèlement, nous avons également montré que certains miARN participaient à l’exacerbation de l’inflammation pulmonaire chez les patients (Bardin et al, J Pathol, 2018), travaux qui se poursuivent actuellement.

Etude de la réponse des cellules épithéliales bronchiques suite à une infection à

  • Pseudomonas aeruginosa : Les analyses des ARNm et des longs ARN non codant exprimés par les cellules épithéliales bronchiques lors d’une infection à P. aeruginosa montrent des différences d’expression importantes entre les cellules de patients atteints de mucoviscidose et de sujets sains (Balloy et al, PLoS One. 2015 & Front Cell Infect Microbiol. 2017). A la suite de ces analyses transcriptomiques, nous avons récemment mis en évidence le rôle de CHAC1 dans le contrôle de l’inflammation (Perra et al, Front immunol, 2018). Nous analysons actuellement l’expression des miARN au cours de l’infection à P. aeruginosa.
  • Aspergillus fumigatus : Les cellules épithéliales bronchiques inhibent par un processus dépendant de la PI3 kinase la croissance du champignon A. fumigatus (Richard et al. Sci rep, 2018). L’analyse transcriptomique des cellules infectées va nous permettre d’identifier les gènes impliqués dans cette activité anti-fongique afin de décrire leur role dans l’infection aspergillaire des patients atteints de mucoviscidose.

Faits marquants 2018

Les gènes modificateurs de la mucoviscidose

En collaboration avec des équipes nord-américaine, nous avons mis en évidence plusieurs régions du génome associées à l’atteinte respiratoire (Corvol et al. Nat Commun 2015), à l’iléus meconial (Sun et al. Nat Genet 2012), à l’atteinte pancréatique (Miller et al. J Pediatr 2015), au chlore sudoral (Collaco et al. Am J Respir Crit Care Med 2016) et à la réponse médicamenteuse (Strug et al. Hum Mol Genet 2017 & Corvol et al, Front Pharmacol 2018). Nous avons participé au développement de nouveaux modèles statistiques afin d’analyser les gènes modificateurs (Soave et al. Am J Hum Genet 2015). Courant 2018, nous avons analysé l’incidence, les complications et les facteurs de risque de l’atteinte hépatique chez les patients atteints de mucoviscidose (Boelle et al, Hepatology, 2018).

Nous avons analysé sur le plan fonctionnel un des gènes modulant la fonction respiratoire, FAM13A1, (Corvol et al. J Med Genet 2014) et étudié son rôle in vitro. Nous avons mis en évidence qu’inhiber FAM13A entrainait une désorganisation du cytosquelette d’actine-F, la formation de fibres de stress, et régulait des marqueurs de la transition épithélio-mésenchymateuse (Corvol et al, J Cyst Fibros 2018). Nous poursuivons actuellement sur des modèles de souris en collaboration avec des équipes Nord-Américaines.

Stratégie thérapeutique ciblant le canal chlorure ANO1 et l’inflammation

Ce projet, soutenu par la SATT Lutech dans le cadre d’un programme de valorisation en partenariat avec Inserm Transfert, est un des projets stratégiques pour l’association Vaincre La Mucoviscidose. Un brevet international a été publié par Inserm Transfert en 2016 (PCT/EP2016/065565) et deux autres ont été déposées en 2018 pour cette molécule qui pourrait avoir une application thérapeutique pour tous les patients atteints de mucoviscidose. Nous avons montré que cette molécule était capable de compenser la déficience liée au défaut de CFTR sur des modèles in vitro et chez la souris (Sonneville et al, Nat Commun. 2017). Notre objectif actuel est de valoriser cette molécule afin d’envisager une stratégie thérapeutique alternative pour les patients atteints de mucoviscidose.

Parallèlement, nous avons montré que certains miARN participaient à l’inflammation pulmonaire des patients atteints de mucoviscidose, ces miARN représentant d’intéressantes cibles thérapeutiques (Bardin et al, J Pathol, 2018).

Etude de la réponse des cellules épithéliales bronchiques suite à une infection à

  • Pseudomonas aeruginosa : Les analyses des ARNm et des longs ARN non codant exprimés par les cellules épithéliales bronchiques lors d’une infection à P. aeruginosa montrent des différences d’expression importantes entre les cellules de patients atteints de mucoviscidose et de sujets sains (Balloy et al, PLoS One. 2015 & Front Cell Infect Microbiol. 2017). A la suite de ces analyses transcriptomiques, nous avons récemment mis en évidence le rôle de CHAC1 dans le contrôle de l’inflammation (Perra et al, Front immunol, 2018). Nous analysons actuellement l’expression des miARN au cours de l’infection à P. aeruginosa.
  • Aspergillus fumigatus : Les cellules épithéliales bronchiques inhibent par un processus dépendant de la PI3 kinase la croissance du champignon A. fumigatus (Richard et al. Sci rep, 2018). L’analyse transcriptomique des cellules infectées va nous permettre d’identifier les gènes impliqués dans cette activité anti-fongique afin de décrire leur role dans l’infection aspergillaire des patients atteints de mucoviscidose.

 

Centre de Recherche
Saint-Antoine
UMR_S 938

Hôpital St-Antoine

Contact

Tél : +(33) 1 49 28 46 89