• Monday, 19 October 2020 - 17:23:06

Thi Minh Tam Pham – Evaluation of the combination of ultrasound, shear wave elastometry, and serum biomarkers for ultra-early diagnosis of hepatocellular carcinoma

September 24 - 2019

directed by Thierry Poynard & Olivier Lucidarme

(Team Housset)

Background: Hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) is the most common primary liver cancer. It occurs in 75% to 80% of cases of cirrhosis. The annual incidence in France is 10,624 cases and it is responsible for 10,063 deaths per year. In 75% of cases, HCC is discovered by chance. There is a relationship between tumor size and prognosis. There is therefore a need to improve the screening and monitoring of patients with chronic liver disease and a high risk of HCC. The indications for semiannual ultrasound surveillance are not uniform, recommended in Europe for patients with cirrhosis (F4 stage) or pre-cirrhosis (F3 stage), and in the United States only for patients with cirrhosis, with or without alpha-fetoprotein (AFP) determination.

Objective: The objective of the thesis was to prospectively evaluate the efficacy of HCC screening in day hospitals by FibroTest (AP-HP-Sorbonne University patent), associated with shear wave elastometry/Shear-Wave-Elastography (SWE), morphological ultrasound in mode B associated with AFP determination.

Methods: All patients in the F3 or F4 stages of fibrosis were included and investigated at the Anti-Fibrosis Assessment Centre of the Hepato-Gastro-Entérologie department of the Pitié-Salpêtrière Hospital Group as part of the FibroFrance cohort. Patients from the Hepatocellular Carcinoma Multi-Technological Consortium (HECAM) were included prospectively between 2015 and 2018 for surveillance by SWE. They were matched with historical controls monitored by simple ultrasound, using a propensity score. Hepatocellular carcinoma-free survival of patients under surveillance for at least 6 months after the first diagnosis of stage F3F4 was analyzed 10 years after inclusion, in a comparative manner between the HECAM and control populations. A univariate survival analysis was performed using the logrank and a Cox model adjusted on the propensity score. The efficacy of FibroTest was compared to that of Fibroscan/Transient Elastography (TE) to identify subjects with severe fibrosis.

Results: At 10 years of age, from the date of diagnosis of stage F3F4, 10 HCCs were detected in the 341 patients in the HECAM population, or 97.1% (94.8 -99.4) versus. 37 in the 265 matched patients in the control population, or 87.8% (83,3-92,3; logrank=14.7; P<0.001). The superiority of FT-SWE monitoring over control remained significant (risk/ratio 3.7; 95% CI 1.8-7.4) after adjustment to the propensity score values summarizing the risk factors for HCC.
The "FibroTest alone" strategy, practiced and interpretable at least once in 762 patients (100% (99.5-100), would have identified 489 F3F4 and 13 CHC, or 38 subjects to be screened for an identified cancer, without improvement by the "FibroTest or TE" strategy which would have identified 632 F3F4 and 13 CHC, or 49 subjects to be screened for an identified cancer. The "TE alone" strategy, practiced and interpretable at least once in 448 patients, would have identified 370 F3F4 and 7 HCCs, or 53 subjects to be screened for an identified cancer. Finally, the "FibroTest and elastometry" strategy, practiced and interpretable at least once in 715 patients, would have identified 227 F3F4 and 7 CHCs, i.e. 34 subjects to be screened for an identified cancer, but for twice as many prescribed tests and a significant number of false CHC negatives (6 out of 13) that would not have been detected because TE was <9.5 kPa, whereas FibroTest was >0.58.

Conclusion: Despite the methodological limitations of a retrospective case-control comparison to estimate improved survival without hepatocellular carcinoma, and relatively small numbers to compare the efficacy of FibroTest with that of elastometry, these results strongly suggest the relevance of combining nodule research upon discovery of an F3 or F4 stage by a blood test such as FibroTest. In our population, a strategy using only TE at the 9.5 kpa threshold would have delayed the diagnosis of 6 out of 13 cancers.

 

Saint-Antoine
Research Center
UMR_S 938

Hôpital St-Antoine

Contact

Phone : +(33) 1 49 28 46 00

• Lundi, 21 Octobre 2019 - 15:29:53

Thèse : Thi Minh Tam Pham – Évaluation de la combinaison échographie, élastométrie par ondes de cisaillement, et biomarqueurs sériques pour le diagnostic ultra-précoce du carcinome hépatocellulaire

24 - Septembre - 2019

directeurs : Thierry Poynard & Olivier Lucidarme

(Équipe Housset)

soutenance le 25 septembre 2019.

Contexte : Le carcinome hépatocellulaire (CHC) est le cancer primitif du foie le plus fréquent. Il survient dans 75% à 80% des cas sur cirrhose. L’incidence annuelle en France est de 10.624 cas et il est responsable de 10.063 décès par an. Dans 75% des cas, le CHC est découvert de façon fortuite. Il existe une relation entre la taille de la tumeur et le pronostic. Il est donc nécessaire d’améliorer le dépistage et la surveillance des patients avec maladie chronique du foie et à haut risque de CHC. Les indications de la surveillance semestrielle par échographie ne sont pas uniformes, recommandée en Europe chez les patients ayant une cirrhose (stade F4) ou une pré-cirrhose (stade F3), et aux Etats-Unis, uniquement chez les patients ayant une cirrhose, avec ou sans dosage de l’alpha-foetoprotéine (AFP).

Objectif : L’objectif de la thèse a été d’évaluer de façon prospective l’efficacité du dépistage du CHC en hôpital de jour par le FibroTest (brevet AP-HP-Sorbonne Université), associé à l’élastométrie par ondes de cisaillement/Shear-Wave-Elastography (SWE), à l’échographie morphologique en mode B associée au dosage de l’AFP.

Méthodes : Tous les patients aux stades F3 ou F4 de fibrose, ont été inclus et investigués au centre de Bilan Anti-Fibrose du département d'Hépato-Gastro-Entérologie du Groupe Hospitalier Pitié-Salpêtrière dans le cadre de la cohorte FibroFrance. Les patients du Hepatocellular Carcinoma Multi-Technological Consortium (HECAM) ont été inclus de façon prospective entre 2015 et 2018 pour une surveillance par SWE. Ils ont été appariés à des contrôles historiques surveillés par échographie simple, à l’aide d’un score de propension. La survie sans carcinome hépatocellulaire des patients sous surveillance depuis au moins 6 mois après le premier diagnostic de stade F3F4, a été analysée 10 ans après inclusion, de façon comparative entre les populations HECAM et contrôle. Une analyse univariée des survies a été réalisée à l’aide du logrank et d’un modèle de Cox ajusté sur le score de propension. L’efficacité du FibroTest a été comparée à celle du Fibroscan/Transient Elastography (TE) pour identifier les sujets avec fibrose sévère.

Résultats : A 10 ans, à partir de la date de diagnostic de stade F3F4, 10 CHC ont été détectés chez les 341 patients de la population HECAM, soient 97,1% (94,8 -99,4) versus. 37 chez les 265 patients appariés de la population contrôle, soient 87,8% (83,3-92,3; logrank=14.7 ; P<0.001). La supériorité de la surveillance FT-SWE versus. contrôle restait significative (risque-ratio 3,7 ; IC95% 1.8-7.4) après ajustement sur les valeurs du score de propension résumant les facteurs de risque de CHC.
La stratégie « FibroTest seul », pratiquée et interprétable au moins une fois chez 762 patients (100% ;99,5-100), aurait permis d’identifier 489 F3F4 et 13 CHC, soient 38 sujets à dépister pour un cancer identifié, sans amélioration par la stratégie « FibroTest ou TE » qui aurait permis d’identifier 632 F3F4 et 13 CHC, soient 49 sujets à dépister pour un cancer identifié. La stratégie « TE seule », pratiquée et interprétable au moins une fois chez 448 patients, aurait permis d’identifier 370 F3F4 et 7 CHC, soient 53 sujets à dépister pour un cancer identifié. Enfin la stratégie « FibroTest et élastométrie » pratiquée et interprétable au moins une fois chez 715 patients, aurait identifié 227 F3F4 et 7 CHC, soient 34 sujets à dépister pour un cancer identifié, mais pour 2 fois plus de tests prescrits et un nombre important de faux négatifs de CHC (6 sur 13) qui n’auraient pas été détectés car la TE était <9.5 kPa, alors que le FibroTest était >0.58.

Conclusion : Malgré les limitations méthodologiques d’une comparaison cas-contrôle rétrospective pour estimer l’amélioration de la survie sans carcinome hépatocellulaire, et d’effectifs relativement modestes pour comparer l’efficacité du FibroTest à celle de l’élastométrie, ces résultats suggèrent fortement la pertinence d’associer une recherche de nodule dès la découverte d’un stade F3 ou F4 par un examen sanguin comme le FibroTest. Dans notre population une stratégie n’utilisant que la TE au seuil de 9.5 kpa aurait retardé le diagnostic de 6 cancers sur 13.

Centre de Recherche
Saint-Antoine
UMR_S 938

Hôpital St-Antoine

Contact

Tél : +(33) 1 49 28 46 00